Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

The USG Faculty OER Leadership Award Program recognizes faculty members who demonstrate exemplary usage of open-access materials in their own classrooms and are leaders in using and advocating for open course material. Examples of such use include but are not limited to: using open textbooks, using/incorporating free educational resources/materials in courses, and creating open educational materials.

Tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty who teach undergraduate courses using Open Educational Resources (OER) are eligible for the award. Courses must have been taught from the Fall 2022- Spring 2024 semesters.

Award & Recognition
Three professors will be selected each academic year and shall receive a $500 leadership award stipend and recognition at the Faculty Award Ceremonies. A separate OER Reception is being considered by the program subcommittee.

Nomination & Deadline
Nominations can be submitted by colleagues and students. Self-nominations are also accepted.
Nomination form can be found here.
Deadline: Wednesday, March 27th, 2024 at 11:59 PM
Awardees will be announced by the end of April.

USG Faculty Open Education Leadership Award Program Sub-committee
The USG Faculty Open Education Leadership Award Program is administered by a USG subcommittee. The subcommittee shall manage the logistics of the award and program, select the three awardees, and organize an event to recognize the awardees!


Sandy De Groote, Professor & Head - Assessment and Scholarly Communications & Secretary of the Senate & Chair of the Executive Committee
Matthew Almendras, USG President
Asa Asad, USG Director of Student Success
Nathan Thokkudubiyyapu, USG Representative (SSC)
Moiz Zafar Shakir, USG Representative (SSC)
Christina Somik, USG Representative (SSC)

Questions? Please contact USG President Matthew Almendras at